Pin: Password:

Scottish Qualifications

IMI offers the widest available range of motor industry qualifications and assessments in Scotland. It also offers Work based Core Skills and Land-based Engineering Qualifications. These qualifications are designed to help individuals prove their skills and competence, and to achieve their career ambitions.

The IMI is approved to offer these qualifications by the Scottish regulator, SQA Accreditation. SQA Accreditation quality assures qualifications offered in Scotland by approving awarding bodies and accrediting their qualifications. This approval means IMI Awards is compliant with SQA Accreditation's Regulatory Principles and Directives.

These qualifications are credit and levelled using the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF). This allows learners' achievements to be recognised and recorded through the award of credits and qualifications. For more information, see

SCQF Level 3 qualifications can support employment or provide progression on to further learning suitable for 14-16 year olds.
SCQF Level 4 qualifications teach basic knowledge and routine tasks, and may be used as learning programmes for students (from 14-16 years old) in school or further education.
SCQF Level 5 qualifications cover routine tasks and require previous knowledge or work experience suitable for those who have an SCQF Level 4  qualification.
SCQF Level 6/7 supervisor level qualifications cover non-routine, more complex tasks and require previous knowledge or work experience; suitable for those who have an SCQF Level 5 qualification.

Other Information
Practice Paper Tests have been created to help candidates prepare and familiarise themselves prior to their real assessment - this will contribute towards an increase of pass rates on the 1st attempt of candidate's Online Assessment. Click here for Practice Paper Tests.


Knowledge qualifications include Vocationally Related Qualifications (VRQs); these VRQs are nationally-recognised and provide the essential knowledge to do a job.

Who are they suitable for?

  • Those who choose a vocational route
  • Those in full or part-time education
  • Those seeking employment, who do not have access to an SVQ or VCQ
  • Those undertaking a Modern Apprenticeship with a VRQ requirement
  • SCQF Level 5 (SVQ 2) is available as a learning programme for students (14-16 years), giving them the opportunity to ‘fast track’ on to higher level qualifications




Competence qualifications include Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs) and Vocational Competence Qualifications (VCQs).

These are nationally-recognised qualifications that demonstrate, to a national standard, competency in the workplace. SVQs (and VCQs) are practically-based to establish skill and proficiency.

Who are they suitable for?

  • Those who are already in employment and have the knowledge, but who wish to achieve a qualification that demonstrates their competence in the workplace
  • Those undertaking a Modern Apprenticeship with an SVQ (or VCQ) requirement



Core Skills
Expired Qualifications

These qualifications are now expired for registrations but still open for certification. The documents are still available on the website. If you require any further information please contact Qualifications Development Team.

Scotland/SQA Accredited

Scotland / Knowledge

Scotland / Competence