Pin: Password:
L4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice

Who is it suitable for?

This qualification is intended for those who maintain the quality of assessment, of any type of qualification, NVQs and non NVQs, from within an organisation or assessment centre.


The suite of LLUK Assessor and Verifier qualifications are for staff that are working in, or looking to gain entry to, roles in Assessment and Quality Assurance.  They have been developed for those working in accredited learning, non-accredited learning, the NQF and the QCF.  They are designed for use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Note: Individuals holding assessor and verifier qualifications, including A, D and V units, will not need to undertake the qualifications.  However these assessors and verifiers must undertake continuing professional development to ensure they are working to the new NOS.


After achieving this qualification, individuals could choose to progress onto another qualification in the LLUK suite to, e.g. become a lead internal verifier.


Holistic assessment is encouraged.  This qualification includes knowledge and competence units.

For the units where competence is being assessed methods will include:

  • observation of performance in the work environment
  • examining products of work
  • questioning the learner
  • discussions with the learner
  • use of others (witness testimony)
  • looking at learner statements
  • recognising prior learning

For the units where knowledge is being assessed methods will include:

  • oral and written questions
  • assignments
  • projects
  • case studies
  • recognising prior learning

Want to know more?

Please contact an IMI approved centre.

View this qualification on the Register of Regulated Qualifications