Pin: Password:

DVSA IMI MOT Qualifications

The IMI MOT qualifications are finalised and officially regulated by Ofqual.


The qualification purpose statements can be found on the right hand side of this page. 


Our Qualification offer

Our MOT qualification offer consists of Tester courses in both Light Vehicle (classes 4 and 7) and Motorcycle (classes 1 and 2) and the Test Centre Management qualification.

Current MOT testers are now required to undertake a minimum of 3 hours’ annual training, to remain up-to-date with best practice methods. All testers must complete an MOT annual assessment, based on this DVSA specification, to maintain their professional status. We offer a package for MOT testers to complete both their MOT annual training and MOT annual assessment. Find out more.

Our MOT qualifications are as follows:

  • IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (classes 4 and 7)
  • IMI Level 2 Award in MOT Testing (classes 1 and 2) 
  • IMI Level 3 Award MOT Test Centre Management

IMI eLearning materials are available to support the delivery of these qualifications.

Am I eligible?

If you are interested in taking the MOT Testing qualifications then you will need to meet the eligibility requirements as set out by the DVSA here.

DVSA will also accept equivalent achievements in place of a qualification. This could be IMI Accreditation Light Vehicle Inspection, or IMI Accreditation Diagnostic Technician Light Vehicle Maintenance & Repair.

There are no eligibility criteria for those wishing to apply for the MOT Test Centre Management qualification.

As the leading automotive awarding organisation, why look anywhere but IMI?

I don’t meet the eligibility criteria

If you don’t meet the criteria outlined above, we can help you. We offer over 250 qualifications for the motor industry, and associated sectors, including routes in Light Vehicle.

Similarly, if you are already working in the motor industry, hold the minimum requirement for experience, but have no formal recognition for your achievements we can offer you IMI Accreditation. IMI Accreditation provides a proof of current competence for the skills you possess, demonstrating you meet a benchmark standard that is recognised across the industry. It lasts for 3 years upon successful completion. Find out more about IMI Accreditation.

Existing IMI Approved Centres

If you are an existing IMI Approved Centre, you can apply to offer the new MOT qualifications via Centres Hub using a qualification approval application form. Before applying, you are required to complete the Approval Guidance Checklist, to ensure that your organisation meets all of the criteria. As part of your application, you will need to upload the completed checklist and the following evidence in the ‘staff and physical resources’ section of the application form:

  • Scheme of work for the training
  • Lesson plans for the training
  • Photographs of the training resources

The guidance checklist can also be found on the right hand side of this page.

If you have any queries, please email

Centres will be subject to an application fee to offer these qualifications, please refer to the fees and charges section of the website for further information. 

New Centres

If you are not currently an IMI Approved Centre and are considering offering the new MOT qualifications, please visit our Become an IMI Approved Centre page for details of how to apply.


Please note, ONLY original qualification certificate serial numbers are permitted when requesting VT8s. Certificates of achievement are NOT accepted by DVSA.