Pin: Password:
IMI Confirm Pilot for New DVSA MOT Qualifications
PUBLISHED: 28/01/2016 | UPDATED:29/02/2016 15:45:58
DVSA have confirmed a number of changes for MOT testers and managers with the introduction of new qualifications. The pilot is set to begin in April 2016 in a three-phase approach. Please read the information below to familiarise yourself.

What is Changing?

From September 2016 onwards, IMI will become officially authorised by DVSA to offer MOT qualifications.

All testers must undertake 3 hours of annual training (testers only), based on a CPD model, to remain up-to-date with best practice methods. All testers must complete an annual reauthorisation exam, based on this learning, to maintain their professional status.

DVSA are removing the current requirement for candidates to be nominated by an MOT Manager before attending a training course. From April, anyone that meets the eligibility criteria, outlined by the DVSA, is able to book onto an MOT Qualification.

Who can offer MOT qualifications?

In order to offer MOT qualifications via IMI, your organisation must be an IMI Approved Centre. To find out the benefits of working with us, and the steps involved to achieving approval status, click here.

DVSA MOT Qualification Pilot

The DVSA MOT Qualifications pilot will commence in April 2016 and consist of three key phases:

Phase One:

A small number of national organisations currently providing in-house training have been offered the opportunity to deliver the course as part of their current training portfolio for their staff.

Phase Two and Three:

These phases will take place from April onwards. They will focus on larger training providers, along with the remaining volunteers, who will begin provision of a paid-for qualification.

The pilot will be rolled out with organisations across the UK with 500 people expected to take part.

How is this being rolled out in the Pilot?

The IMI SSC, IMI Awarding and other Awarding Organisations are engaged with DVSA to run a pilot in 3 phases beginning from April 2016. This will incorporate classes 1 and 2, 4 and 7 and MOT managers.

The first two phases are being tightly controlled and supported by DVSA who are providing training for pilot centres. No other centres can get involved at this stage. The first two phases will be free of charge for prospective testers and managers.

The third phase which begins in June will be full cost and include the regulated qualification. This will also be restricted to selected centres only.

From September the initial qualifications will be available for all approved centres to offer. The normal application process will apply- as with any other regulated qualification.

Why should my centre get involved with the DVSA changes?

There are a number of benefits available to you as a centre:

  • Substantial revenue potential by offering MOT Qualifications   
  • An opportunity to engage with multiple audiences via IMI Accreditation and IMI Qualifications
  • Raising professional industry standards

Why should my centre choose IMI?

We offer a great range of benefits to our approved centres for those offering MOT qualifications:

  • Only awarding organisation solely dedicated to automotive learning and development
  • Industry-leading automotive awarding organisation
  • Consistent support from expert industry professionals
  • Great value offer
  • A range of products that enable learners with no previous experience, through to the CPD requirements as a qualified MOT tester

Next Steps

For further information about the changes, email

If you would like to share any suggestions with DVSA, or have any comments or queries, please direct them to